Torq more awards 1The 2016 TORC Sportsman Banquet presented by MORR saw over 460 racers, supporters, and fans attend the festivities as the top performers in each class were honored with a substantial year end payout as the MORR Fundraiser and raffle kept the party lasting well into the night. Along with the evening banquet, an overflow crowd assembled earlier in the day to hear the latest news in regards to the 2017 race season. Needless to say, it was a very busy day.

Torq more awards 1The General Meeting discussed the re-establishment of Classix, Stock Truck, and Formula 4×4 as Grassroots classes competing only at the Crandon and Bark River rounds of racing. There were slight rule changes on the technical side in a few classes which are reflected in the 2017 version of the Sportsman rulebook. (Available online at
The atrium of the Paper Valley Radisson saw one of the Light Buggy racers from Buth Racing on display as two of the latest editions of the Short-Course Kids Karts from Ehren Precision Speed Products. The hallway also saw product displays from Londerville Steel, Rod End Supply, and One Off Graphics.
Once dinner was served, the top drivers in each class were introduced with each Champion taking the opportunity to talk about the race season and thank their supporters.
Classix – Dale Chestnut
Stock Truck – Nick Visser
Formula 4×4 – Brad Lamarche
Light Buggy – Greg Stingle
1600 Buggy – David Luger
Super Buggy – John Fitzgerald
Super Stock Truck – Mitch Dorr
Super Truck – Mark Peterson
Short-Course Kids Kart – Owen Vanepren
The list of 2016 MORR Contingency donors were thanked as partnerships with, Motor State Distributing, Londerville Steel, Rod End Supply, and One Off Graphics were announced for the 2017 season (More details in the coming weeks).
Once again the Sportsman Crandon World Champions were introduced as representatives from the Big House handed out the one of a kind rings.
Classix – Dale Chestnut
Stock Truck – Nick Visser
Formula 4×4 – Brad Lamarche
Light Buggy -Diesel Shanak
1600 Buggy – Bruce Fraley
Super Buggy – Darren Hardesty
Super Stock Truck – Jaime Kleikamp
Super Truck – Eric Ruppel
Short-Course Kids Kart – Troy Johnson
Rounding out the festivities on stage were the special awards presentation.
Rookie of the Year- Michael Meister
Driver of the Year – Mitch Dorr
Most Improved Driver – Kenny Platten
Tough Luck Award – Tom Graff
Team of the Year – TnT Racing
Best Win – Joey Maciosek
Farmer John Award – Mike Reusche
MORR Person of the Year – Jennifer Lake
Torq more awards 1Throughout the evening Crandon International Off-Road Raceway and Bark River International Off-Road Raceway sponsored the beer, ERX-Elk River Action Track sponsored the Hot Chocolate Bar, and AMSOIL supported the late night pizza party.
The MORR Fundraiser and Raffle saw an incredible number of items donated to raise money for the MORR Assistance fund and the Drivers’ Point fund. MORR thanks everyone that brought donations as well as everyone that participated in the Fundraiser.
Special thanks goes out to Nancy Vanden Heuvel for coordinating the banquet, Amy Demeny for taking care of banquet reservations and payments, Kim Kinner for organizing the fundraiser portion of the evening, as well as Nancy Behnke and Arlene Bialaczynski for pitching in where ever needed.
Even after the all the prizes were awarded and the pizza was served, the MORR party was still going strong proving that Sportsman off-road racing in the Midwest is more than just racing, it’s also about having a great time with family and friends.

MORR Board of Directors

Official Classifieds of MORR

President – Dan Vandenheuvel
Vice-President – Don Demeny
Treasurer – Greg Stingle
At-Large – Scott Behnke
At-Large – Rob Kinner